Splendid answer!

I had a business lunch with a customer today. He owns a certain taxi company in Singapore and he was lamenting to us about the ever existing driver issue, specifically the lack of taxi drivers in Singapore. In order to solve this problem, he suggested to a certain MP a very Singaporean solution: hire foreign workers as taxi drivers.

That certain MP kinda laughed at him and told him, “Don’t even think about it!”

I was very curious and asked him why, he said he has absolutely no idea cos no one in the government wanted to let him know why nor answer him satisfactorily.

To which the Boss told him this:

“Next time, if you asked the same question to any MP and they refused you flat out, ask them to think about what if one day their sons were to come to them and tell them, “Daddy, when I grow up, I would like to be a taxi driver.” Then you ask them again if its a good idea to hire foreign workers as taxi drivers in Singapore.”

At first I was confused cos I caught no balls with what he said.

Then I think harder and I was like, “Woah! Splendid answer!”

Did you catch anything?

šŸ˜€

~ by blurfroggie on September 5, 2007.

4 Responses to “Splendid answer!”

  1. even foreign workers are taking the local taxi drivers job?

  2. I thought about it before and think it would not work because Taxi drivers have to be VERY familiar with the local roads? And also maybe security concern, maybe.

  3. Tommy, nope, you are so wrong! Since when you came across a foreigner taxi driver?

    Highway Blogger, well actually Singapore is small so I doubt this is a really major issue here.. Security concern however, would be more accurate.

  4. hmm…but but but why “Daddy, when I grow up, I would like to be a taxi driver.ā€

Leave a Reply

 
